SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following eighteen Additional Judges of the Madhya Pradesh High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

Mr. Justices:

- 1. Atul Shreedharan
- 2. Sushrut Arvind Dharmadhikari
- 3. Vivek Rusia
- **4.** Anand Pathak
- **5.** Ved Prakash Sharma
- **6.** Jagdish Prasad Gupta
- **7.** Anurag Kumar Shrivastava
- 8. Housla Prasad Singh
- **9.** Ashok Kumar Joshi
- **10.** Vivek Agarwal
- **11.** Smt. Nandita Dubey
- **12.** Rajeev Kumar Dubey
- **13.** Smt. Anjuli Palo
- **14.** Virender Singh
- **15.** S.K. Awasthi
- **16.** Vijay Kumar Shukla
- **17.** G.S. Ahluwalia
- **18.** Subodh Abhyankar

The Collegium of the Madhya Pradesh High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 19th April, 2017 has unanimously recommended the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court.

The above recommendation has the concurrence of the Chief Minister and the Governor of the State of Madhya Pradesh.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named recommendees for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleagues who are conversant with the affairs of the Madhya Pradesh High Court. Copies of letters of opinion of our consultee-colleagues received in this regard are placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26th October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium, after going through the judgments of the above-named recommendees in its reports dated 22nd November, 2017 (copies placed below) has found the judgments of the above-named recommendees as "Very Good/Good/Satisfactory" and "good and up to the mark/upto the mark".

We have also taken note of certain complaints making allegations against some of the above-named recommendees. We do not see any merit in the aforesaid complaints. In our considered view, the complaints deserve to be ignored, particularly, in the light of positive material on record.

Taking into consideration the recommendation of the High Court Collegium, views of our consultee-colleagues and the reports of the Judgment Evaluation Committee, the Collegium finds all the above-named Additional Judges suitable for appointment as Permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Mr. Justices (1) Atul Shreedharan, (2) Sushrut Arvind Dharmadhikari, (3) Vivek Rusia, (4) Anand Pathak, (5) Ved Prakash Sharma, (6) Jagdish Prasad Gupta, (7) Anurag Kumar Shrivastava, (8) Housla Prasad Singh, (9) Ashok Kumar Joshi, (10) Vivek Agarwal, (11) Smt. Nandita Dubey, (12) Rajeev Kumar Dubey, (13) Smt. Anjuli Palo, (14) Virender Singh, (15) S.K. Awasthi, (16) Vijay Kumar Shukla, (17) G.S. Ahluwalia, and (18) Subodh Abhyankar, Additional Judges, be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Madhya Pradesh High Court.

धमस्त्रती

(Dipak Misra), C.J.I.

(J. Chelameswar), J.

(Ranjan Gogoi), J.

December 4, 2017.